About Me

07/04/2012 19:04

May 26, 2012
    So just to start off with, I am currently in the process of expanding my recipe venue, so please bear with me as I do see that there is clearly a lack of meals available for suggestion at the time.  ALSO, for all of my readers and website viewers out there, please write into Naturally-Freed by going to the contact form on the tab above....I would LOVE to hear any input or suggestions that you all have!
    Today's topic of interest consists of the many variations of none other then *rice cakes*.  There is a huge range of flavors that you can choose from- anything from ranch, to bbq, carmel, and even cheese.  
    When I'm having a craving for some type of sweet dessert, I turn to either a carmelor plain rice cake with either low-fat strawberry cream cheese, or a thin layer of natural peanut butter topped with either sugar-free raspberry jelly or fresh banana slices.  YUM! Another great way to prepare them is dipping pieces of the rice cake in either hummus or a wedge of laughing cow cheese.  Despite all of these exciting twists to a classic gluten free food, there is nothing wrong with the taste of a plain rice cake...they're crunchy and low calorie.
    My new obsession is a soy chai tea.  Yes, you could go to some brand name coffee shops and buy a $4.45 medium one of these drinks (which I did for the first time today), OR you could follow my usual daily routine...which is way cheaper.  Though at cafe's they often serve iced chai tea's, I find it delicious to heat up 3 parts water 1 part soy milk, and then steap the chai tea bag in the heated water...adding a sweetner if necessary.  This is a great treat for almost all food allergies, which is not all that common!  This very low calorie treat can be great warmed up for those chilly nights, or in an iced version for the upcoming hot summer days!
    I was at the grocery store today, and a few weeks ago I had seen a gluten free magazine.  Today when I was looking for it, I was not able to find it so I asked the closest worker if he knew if they carried any gluten free magazines.  To retell this as simply as possible, he simply laughed in my face, while saying "no, nah dont think we do."  Its eye opening how many people, even grown adults, are so unknowledgeable when it comes to dietary needs of 55% of our country.  This man also happened to be stocking the store shelves with food, which I see as quite ironic.  I am so glad that this website and its followers will be able to start a revolution of informing and making others aware of our lifestyles.
~grace

 

May 23, 2012

    I am a firm believer that breakfast is truly the most important meal of the day.  This said, I find it extremely important that I eat a hardy and filling meal to start my day off right.  Oatmeal is always a good staple...as it is a quick and easy meal to make.  Not all Celiac's or gluten intolerant people are able to stomach the oats though, but I have found that eating oatmeal does not make me feel sick (knock on wood).  If you are like me and are able to include this complex carb into your diet, I suggest topping it with fresh cut up fruit, such as bananas, strawberries, peaches, apples or blueberries, and then topping it off with soy milk!  For a sweeter treat, trying sprinkling brown sugar and crushed walnuts over the top...YUM!  Another delicious gluten free breakfast, is a two egg omelet topped with your cheese of choice, on top of a toasted gluten free english muffin...adding a piece or two of turkey bacon every once in a while is always a good touch as well!  This gluten free egg sandwich is a nutritious and delicious way to begin any day.  Another great, quick breakfast is a yogurt parfait.  Check to make sure your yogurt of choice is gluten free.  I start off with scooping a fruit or vanilla based greek or regular yogurt at the bottom of a bowl, and top with a few small spoonfuls of low fat cottage cheese.  Then, I add (either) gluten free granola or cereal, and top with delicious fresh fruit!  This is such a great tasting treat, you will want to come back for more!
    On a quicker note, I have found it truly pays to keep informing people of your food intolerance whenever it slips their mind in certain social food situations, because eventually they will remember!  Knowing that all of my friends and family are here to support me through whatever obstacles I may face is all I could ever ask for!
~Grace

 

May 21, 2012

So for any of you gluten free people out there, I know that it can be very difficult when trying to find a portable, delicious, and nutritious snack.  Over these past couple of months, I have discovered some wonderfully good tasting snacks that can be brought with you just about anywhere!
-whole fruit 
-cut up veggies & pieces of gluten free tortilla with hummus
-trail mix...the chocolate nut kind is great!
-100 calorie almond packs - I prefer the dark chocolate roasted ones, they taste like a dessert so watch out!
-string cheese
-mini cottage cheese & yogurt cups
-dried fruit
-Luna bars (check the labels, but many of them are purely just SOY!)
-"Kind" granola bars (gluten free, vegan, etc.)
-laughing cow cheese and gluten free crackers
-bbq or ranch rice cakes
-plain rice cakes topped with a small amount of natural peanut butter with banana slices or low fat cream cheese

Hope this helps the next time you are looking for a quick snack!

~grace

 

 

May 19, 2012

Gluten Free is the New Black...The Beginning  
Growing up, I had no allergies, would try any  new food whenever the opportunity arose, and never got sick.  However, in the fall of 2011 I started to
 
feel sick ALL the time.  Week by week, I would exclude a food group from my diet one by one...first I removed all dairy, then citrus/dense fruits and vegetables, nuts, then any artificial sugar, I even took out meat for a short while.  After months of trial and error, I decided that I should probably try taking out gluten/wheat/whole grains...you know, just to see what would happen.  I was in denial that I could potentially be THAT KID that cant have any bread product.  Well, what do you know, just a matter of days after removing the grains food group from my diet, I felt like a new person!  I had an unbelievable amount of energy, was never tired, my headaches went away, and so did my sharp stomach pains.  I then wanted to confirm my self diagnoses, so I went to visit my doctor, who validated that I did in fact have a gluten intolerance.  I was advised to get blood work done to see if this intolerance could possibly be Celiac's disease (a much more severe form of a gluten intolerance)...when I heard this I was heartbroken, because this meant that I would need to incorporate gluten back INTO my diet!  I tried eating small amounts for a few days, but ended up not being able to continue with this, so my test results were obviously inaccurate due to my lack of gluten in my system.  I could not bear to go back to the pain and sickness I had experienced, and I was definely not going to intentionally make myself sick for this one test.  It has been quite a journey, but as someone who is an avid lover of all things nutrition and exercise, I embrace my intolerance, and when people criticize my lifestyle or state how 'impossible' it must be, I use this opportunity to educate them on the truth behind what a gluten intolerance/Celiac's disease truly is...its not something you can stop doing one day and be fine, its a lifestyle change.  However, I believe that gluten free is the new black! Everywhere I go, it seems 'gluten free' labels and products seem to be popping up!  With a variety of english muffins, pasta, soups, cookies, crackers, and many more things that I can eat without making my body sick, there is no question that this way of life will be something that I will live with the rest of my life.  I have created this website to help educate others on all I have learned, and intend to create an online message board where viewers can connect with other people who have their same intolerances or restrictions (vegan, etc).  This website is for anyone with a dietary restriction or allergy, to help you all live the most normal life possible!  Everybody deserves to eat delicious food without making their body sick!
~grace

Back