There is a Rainbow after every Storm

09/26/2012 13:21

It's funny how things always seem to work out for the better, even if at first it seems like all hope is lost. When I was diagnosed with my severe gluten allergy (wow, a year ago now!), thoughts were running through my mind...no more fresh, savory French toast bagels from the local bagel shop, good bye to my mom's famous penne ala vodka that we eat to celebrate all major holidays and occasions...it is my birthday meal every year, and adios to my favorite meals from Little Italy (think pasta with alfrado sauce, margarita pizza...). Well, minus these few setbacks, this diagnosis has actually ENHANCED my life. People are absolutely fascinated when they find out I cannot digest gluten, and want to know everything about my dietary regimen. It's actually helped me start conversations with many people, and connect with people I meet at my job at a locally famed cafe. Customers are intrigued and WANT to talk about how they were diagnosed with their particular allergy, where some local hot spots are that we can eat at, and truly want to know my recommendations for them regarding the cafe's menu. I am a special case luckily, and am intrigued with all things nutrition wise, so am a good person to request food, meals, and restaurants to fit any restrictions! This unique fact about me has helped me in many other ways as well- through having a genuine topic to write about for major papers in my life and enhancing my already love of nutrition, and expanding to a love of food allergies and restrictions as well. My life goal is to help people live as normal lives as possible. I want to work with inner citie families and school systems and teach them how to provide proper nutrition on a low income, I want to travel to Africa and South America where I can teach large villages the importance of using their resources to better provide for all of their people, and I will use my knowledge of Spanish and Mandarin Chinese to help families create their favorite family recipes, but in a new and healthier way. As the old saying goes, there is a rainbow after every storm...you just have to use the opportunity when it presents itself!

Some of my favorites right now:

Edamame with sea salt, flavored sparkling water, and the song "Send Me On My Way," by Rusted Root

Now go out there and look for your rainbow!

Grace

Back