Unexpected Kindness

10/03/2013 15:41

"Unexpected kindness is the most powerful, least costly, and most underrated agent of human change. Kindness that catches us by surprise brings out the best in our natures."

I came across this quote, and have been really thinking of the deeper meaning it has for quite a while now. This really is the essence of our life in general, and how we should aim to live, impacting others in a positive light, through even the simplest of measures.

This has everything to do in fact with this website and the motives behind it. It is not uncommon for friends and family members to forget that I can’t eat anything with gluten in it. This can make social situations awkward at times, as my own dietary situation often will slip their minds when preparing food...resulting in me sitting in front of an empty plate for the entire meal. I have been put in situations where I show up to a gathering, and even after giving a heads up to whoever is planning the menu, the only gluten free item is water.

This is not a good feeling. I love trying new and unexpected things, as there is so much you can learn about a culture by the food they consume. I have a couple people in my life who seem to go to the end of the world and back to make sure that wherever we are, I will not be left out from the fun & they will continually stick up for me and remind others of my food allergy.

This kindness is often unexpected in the moment, and catches me by surprise.

Another example- My family went out for lunch a few days ago and bought cupcakes from the restaurant. When they came home, there was a beautiful champagne colored cupcake with swirled frosting, dusted in light pink crystals, just for me. I had not asked or even expected one. This gesture cost my family nearly nothing, but to me it meant the world. Now, I know you are probably thinking I am a food addict who lives to eat, and just can't stop talking about all the things I can or cannot eat. This is not the case, however. My goal when I created Naturally-Freed, was to promote wellness for all, and help others realize that although their diets may be limited, they still deserve to eat good food.

Try this- if your friend is lactose intolerant, and you are both attending the same gathering that will without a doubt involve ice cream...call ahead and request that the host supply soy ice cream! Your friend will be blown away at the effort you made so they could be (essentially) a normal consumer.

Like I said, it's the small things that make a difference.

Grace

 

Back